The NEW 52 Presents: Damaged DC Heroes

My family doesn’t really approve of me reading comics at the age of 21. They laugh, they say comics are for kids and that I need to grow up. Really? I wouldn’t say these stories are made for kids….

The New 52 – In the new, Out with the undies

The New 52 – DC’s mega re-launch of its 60-year plus universe. The aim is to modernize and refresh its well-established characters which had been burden by long and complex back-stories to a new and fresh audience. DC wants to reinvent itself in an effort to incite new readers. The New 52 has made some significant changes and no character, no matter how big, was exempt. Anyone seen underpants lately?

“No Diana, I am your Father”

Me being a DC fan has been a fairly recent thing. While I’d saw cartoons such as Justice League and Teen Titans; the actual comics is fairly new to me. I was only really familiar with the likes of Batman, Superman and, because of extra effort on my part, The Flash. Beyond watching the Justice League cartoons and animated films she appeared in; I had never cared much for Wonder Woman.

While I liked the character I never cared much for a her back-story or universe. Greek Gods had just never appealed to me because it was so far-fetched from anything I could ever relate to. I never got into Green Lantern for that very same reason. But that was the past and with the New 52, I made the effort to buy her comics as well as GL, Aquaman and other big names and I’m better for it. It was not what I expected but I thoroughly enjoyed it.

The early issues largely revolve around the casual flings and infidelities that occur among the Greek Gods as well as just how much of a player Zeus actually is. Zeus has been banging here, there and everywhere and has much illegitimate offspring to show for it. I felt like I was watching an episode of Game of Thrones but in a good way. The story then leads to dispute the truth behind of Wonder Woman’s birth. DC has ditched WW’s “born from clay” origin to a more realistic one.

My favourite of the re-boots so far.  It's helps when you have such awesome artwork courtesy of Jim Lee.

My favourite of the re-boots so far. It’s helps when you have such awesome artwork courtesy of Jim Lee.

Damaged Goods

DC deliberately made their characters more darker, more emotionally damaged, less perfect and well….more Batman-like. Make sense, I suppose. Emo-like personalities seem to be in fashion these days and can Batman even be more popular right now? Flash’s re-conned childhood  is alot more similar to Batman’s.

As a young kid Barry witnessed his mother’s murder as well as his father being framed for it. The re-con led to the story that is Flashpoint which then, storyline-wise, led to the New 52 Universe.  So there’s Barry’s now unpleasant past, Wonder Woman’s birth not being so innocent anymore and a lot more emphasis has been put on Superman’s alien-ness rather a savior in both the comics and feature film Man of Steel. While some DC purists aren’t fans of the New 52 but I am very much am.

DC heroes' are definitely less perfect and more relateable. Which was what brought Marvel to the dance in the first place.

DC heroes’ are definitely less perfect and more relateable. Which was what brought Marvel to the dance in the first place.

2 thoughts on “The NEW 52 Presents: Damaged DC Heroes

  1. Pingback: Justice Leauge: War Review | Nikyle's Two Pence

  2. Pingback: Justice League: War Review | Nikyle's Two Pence

Leave a Reply

